inside: art

Special exhibition: Kassel…In Love with Saskia. 
Love and marriage in Rembrandt's times 
Schloss Wilhelmshöhe, 12 April – 11 August 2019

In Kassel, 2019 is the "Rembrandt Year": the Dutch painter Rembrandt von Rjin died 350 years ago. However, his infinite love for Saskia van Uylenburgh, whom he married in 1634, did not die with him. The special exhibition "Kassel… In Love with Saskia. Love and marriage in Rembrandt's times" tells the story of this socially ill-matched couple: how did they meet? How did people court each other in the Netherlands in the 17th century? How did they get married, what was their everyday wedded life like, and can love really conquer death?

The love affair between the young painter Rembrandt and Saskia, the beautiful and rich burgomaster's daughter, had a fairy-tale beginning but ended tragically with Saskia's early death in 1642. This is a story of love and marriage, wedded bliss and remembrance in the Dutch Golden Age. 

The special exhibition at the Gemäldegalerie Alte Meister in Schloss Wilhelmshöhe palace focuses on the story of Saskia and Rembrandt and was developed in cooperation with the Fries Museum in Leeuwarden, the capital of the Dutch province of Friesland and also the town where Saskia van Uylenburgh was born. 

The books, official documents, precious objets d'art, magnificent wedding presents and paintings, drawings and etchings by Rembrandt displayed are evidence of the couple's happy marriage before Saskia's death. The magnificent highlight of the exhibition is the portrait "Saskia van Uylenburgh in profile, in rich costume", which is also the Gemäldegalerie Alte Meister's most outstanding masterpiece.

Saskia was still alive when Rembrandt began to paint the portrait "Saskia van Uylenburgh in profile, in rich costume". She died young, and he reworked the portrait and turned it into a symbol of faithfulness in marriage and eternal remembrance. Saskia was to be remembered for all eternity as this vision of honourability and wealth. His hope was fulfilled: people have been admiring this picture for more than three centuries. 

Rembrandt sold the painting when he ran into financial troubles. It was acquired for Kassel in 1750 and has been one of the city's greatest works of art ever since. The painting is not only part of the special exhibition but always on display in the Gemäldegalerie Alte Meister.

Opening times:
Tuesdays to Sundays and on public holidays 10am to 5pm; Wednesdays until 8pm

Admission:
Regular 6 euros, concessions 4 euros
Admission free for children and young people under the age of 18, University of Kassel students as well as anyone named Saskia

More information:
www.rembrandt350.de

Guided tours of the exhibition

Guided tour of the exhibition "Kassel…In Love with Saskia"
Every first, third and fourth Sunday from 3pm to 4pm, admission 6 euros (concessions 4 euros), plus charge for guided tour

Guided tour with "Saskia"
Sunday 14 July and Sunday 11 August from 3pm to 4pm, admission 6 euros (concessions 4 euros), plus charge for guided tour

Koffie met Saskia
Saturday 13 July and Saturday 10 August from 2.30pm to 4pm; guided tour, admission, hot beverage and a piece of cake: 13 euros

More information:
www.rembrandt350.de

The Gemäldegalerie Alte Meister

The Gemäldegalerie Alte Meister in Schloss Wilhelmshöhe palace is one of the most important collections of its kind and internationally renowned. Its history, which spans more than 500 years, goes back to the times of the landgraves: in 1509, Lucas Cranach the Elder created a small winged altar in memory of William II, Landgrave of Hesse. Most of the collection was acquired between 1748 and 1756, when William VIII, Landgrave of Hesse, had approximately 800 paintings purchased throughout Europe, including Rembrandt's famous works "Jacob's Blessing" and the portrait of his wife Saskia van Uylenburgh. The around 500 paintings exhibited over three floors at Schloss Wilhelmshöhe palace provide an excellent overview of European painting from the late Gothic period to Classicism. The collection particularly focuses on 17th century Dutch and Flemish art and includes numerous masterpieces by Rubens, Frans Hals, Van Dyck and Jordaens. The range of Rembrandt's works on display is one of the most extensive anywhere in the world. The German, Italian, French and Spanish Old Masters are represented with works by Dürer, Titian, Poussin and Murillo. Between 1749 and 1751, a dedicated building for the collection was constructed behind the landgrave's palace between Auehang and Frankfurter Strasse. In 1877, the paintings were moved to a newly erected building at Schöne Aussicht, now known as the Neue Galerie, where they remained until the start of the Second World War. The Gemäldegalerie Alte Meister moved to Schloss Wilhelmshöhe palace in 1974.

ConsentThis website uses Google Analytics, fonts.com fonts, Facebook Pixel and YouTube videos.
Your consent to their use is voluntary and may be revoked at any time.
A simple revocation option and further information can be found in our privacy policy.
Decline Accept

inside: art

Sonderausstellung: Kassel… verliebt in Saskia.
Liebe und Ehe in Rembrandts Zeit Schloss Wilhelmshöhe,
12. April – 11. August 2019

Das Jahr 2019 ist Rembrandtjahr in Kassel: Vor 350 starb der niederländische Künstler Rembrandt von Rjin. Unsterblich ist jedoch seine unendliche Liebe zu Saskia Uylenburgh, die er 1634 heiratete. Die Sonderausausstellung „Kassel … verliebt in Saskia. Liebe und Ehe in Rembrandts Zeit“ zeigt die Geschichte des so ungleichen Paares: Wie haben sich die Beiden kennengelernt? Wie wurde im 17. Jahrhundert in den Niederlanden gedatet? Wie wurde geheiratet, wie verlief der Ehealltag und vermag die Liebe über den Tod siegen?

Die Liebesbeziehung des jungen Künstlers Rembrandt und der schönen und reichen Tochter des Bürgermeisters Saskia begann traumhaft und endete tragisch mit dem frühen Tod Saskias im Jahr 1642. Es ist eine Geschichte von Liebe, Hochzeit, Ehe und Gedenken im Goldenen Zeitalter der Niederlande. 

Die Sonderausstellung in der Gemäldegalerie Alte Meister in Schloss Wilhelmshöhe um die Geschichte von Saskia und Rembrandt entstand in Kooperation mit dem Fries Museum in Leeuwarden, Hauptstadt der niederländischen Provinz Friesland und auch Geburtsort von Saskia Uylenburgh. 

Bücher, Urkunden, Schatzkunstobjekte, prächtige Hochzeitsgeschenke und Gemälde, Zeichnungen und Radierungen von Rembrandt dokumentieren in der Ausstellung die glückliche Zeit des Paares bis zum Tod Saskias. Glänzender Höhepunkt der Ausstellung ist das Kasseler Porträt „Saskia Uylenburgh im Profil in reichem Kostüm“, zugleich das herausragende Meisterwerk der Gemäldegalerie Alte Meister. 

Rembrandt begann mit dem Porträt „Saskia Uylenburgh im Profil in reichem Kostüm“ noch zu Lebzeiten Saskias. Als sie früh starb, überarbeitete er es und machte es zu einem Sinnbild ehelicher Treue und ewigen Angedenkens. Bis in alle Ewigkeit sollte an Saskia in einer Vision aus Ruhm und Reichtum erinnert. Der Wunsch erfüllt sich bis heute: seit mehr als drei Jahrhunderten können Menschen das Bild bewundern. 

Als Rembrandt Geldprobleme hat, verkauft er das Gemälde. Im Jahr 1750 wird es für Kassel erworben und ist seitdem einer der größten Kunstwerke in Kassel. Auch außerhalb der Sonderausstellung hängt das Kunstwerk in der Gemäldegalerie Alte Meister. 

Öffnungszeiten:
Dienstag bis Sonntag, feiertags 10 bis 17 Uhr
Mittwoch bis 20 Uhr 

Eintritt:
Regulär 6 Euro, Ermäßigt 4 Euro
Kinder und Jugendliche bis 18 Jahre, Studierende der Universität Kassel sowie alle Personen mit dem Namen Saskia frei. 

Weitere Information:
www.rembrandt350.de

Führungen zur Ausstellung

Ausstellungsrundgang „Kassel… verliebt in Saskia“
Jeden ersten, dritten und vierten Sonntag, jeweils 15 bis 16 Uhr Eintritt 6 Euro (ermäßigt 4 Euro) zzgl. Führungsgebühr 

Kostümführung mit Saskia
Sonntag, 14.07 und 11.08., jeweils 15 bis 16 Uhr Eintritt 6 Euro (ermäßigt 4 Euro) zzgl. Führungsgebühr 

Koffie met Saskia
Samstag, 13.07 und 10.08., jeweils 14:30 bis 16 Uhr Führung, Eintritt, Heißgetränk und Kuchen: 13 Euro 

Weitere Information:
www.rembrandt350.de

Die Gemäldegalerie Alte Meister

Als eine der bedeutendsten Sammlungen ihrer Art genießt die Gemäldegalerie Alte Meister im Schloss Wilhelmshöhe weltweites Ansehen. Ihre über 500-jährige Geschichte geht auf die Zeit der Landgrafen zurück: 1509 schuf Lucas Cranach d. Ä. einen kleinen Flügelaltar zum Gedächtnis an Landgraf Wilhelm II. Die Periode der intensivsten Sammeltätigkeit war zwischen 1748 und 1756, als Landgraf Wilhelm VIII. ca. 800 Gemälde in ganz Europa ankaufen ließ; darunter auch die berühmten Gemälde Rembrandts »Der Segen Jakobs« und das Bildnis seiner Ehefrau Saskia Uylenburgh. Die ca. 500 präsentierten Gemälde bieten auf drei Etagen im Schloss Wilhelmshöhe einen hervorragenden Überblick über die europäische Malerei von der Spätgotik bis zum Klassizismus. Einen besonderen Schwerpunkt bildet die holländische und flämische Malerei des 17. Jahrhunderts mit zahlreichen Meisterwerken von Rubens, Frans Hals, Van Dyck und Jordaens. Der Bestand an Werken Rembrandts gehört zu den größten weltweit. Die Bereiche der altdeutschen, italienischen, französischen und spanischen Malerei werden unter anderem durch Werke von Dürer, Tizian, Poussin und Murillo angeführt. 1749 – 51 wurde für die Sammlung ein eigenes Galeriegebäude hinter das Palais des Landgrafen zwischen Auehang und Frankfurter Straße gebaut. 1877 zogen die Gemälde in das neu errichtete Gebäude der heutigen Neuen Galerie an der Schönen Aussicht um, wo sie bis zum Ausbruch des Zweiten Weltkriegs blieben. Seit 1974 befindet sich die Gemäldegalerie Alte Meister im Schloss Wilhelmshöhe.

Einwilligung zur Nutzung. Diese Website verwendet Google Analytics, Schriften von fonts.com, Facebook Pixel und Videos von YouTube.
Ihre Einwilligung in deren Nutzung ist freiwillig und kann jederzeit widerrufen werden.
Eine einfache Widerrufsmöglichkeit sowie weitere Informationen finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.
Ablehnen Akzeptieren