KolorCubes: Colourful walls for Kassel!

Local graffiti and street art project KolorCubes has been creating large-scale wall murals in the streets of Kassel since 2015 – in collaboration with artists from all over the world and mainly in Kassel's trendy Schillerviertel district. This is also where the KolorCubes WorkSpace is located, an open art studio and arts & culture council office that hosts workshops and is also the starting point for guided tours through the "public art gallery" created by KolorCubes.

Art in public spaces

The declared aims of the graffiti project KolorCubes are to get people together and to enrich urban spaces with large-scale art.

What began with three wall murals in Kassel's Schillerviertel district, which has a lively arts and culture scene, soon developed into a project whose reputation spread beyond the region. It is now a firmly established element of Kassel's art scene. Around 30 large-scale murals have so far been created in Kassel in collaboration with artists from all over the world. Together, they represent what is known as the local "public art gallery". KolorCubes has also initiated and continues to be involved in many other projects and collaborations with a number of clubs and institutions in Kassel.

Registered charity KolorCubes e. V. has been developing an open workspace for the realisation of projects and collaborations in the Schillerviertel district since 2018. Encouraging people to engage with art plays a key role, for example in the form of guided tours, lectures and creative workshops. Above all, the KolorCubes team aims to offer people the opportunity to develop and to discover their talents.

Guided tours of the "public art gallery"

KolorCubes regularly offers guided tours around this "public art gallery"; they are also available on request. The public art gallery "exhibits" are all located in the Schillerviertel district, Kassel's "heart of gold". The district has undergone an astonishing transformation in recent years: unused former industrial premised have been revived by regional companies, artists have opened studios in rear courtyards, and the local street festival, the "Schillerviertelfest", that is held every summer has become a firm fixture in Kassel's cultural landscape.

On the guided tour, the participants can learn more about the creation processes and backgrounds to the wall murals, are given insights into the project's work and have the opportunity to discuss urban art in public spaces.

 

KolorCubes creative workshops

An important element of the KolorCubes project is to encourage people to engage with art – digitally via the social media, in an analogue way through printed media or also face to face, for instance during workshops and painting projects. Everyone is welcome to participate – the only condition is an open mind.

Everyone should be able to use their imagination in art, which includes making decisions, choosing, letting things happen and allowing them to evolve. People who create and practice art learn to constantly redevelop their ideas and habitual ways of doing things. During the project, they will use either spray paints or paint brushes, always on the basis of a concept that leaves plenty of room for the development of own ideas and that in fact encourages them – creativity and change are experienced jointly, and the environment is shaped together.

Open projects are as much part of the concept as painting projects developed specifically for schoolchildren and companies. What is important is that everyone has fun, can express their creativity and does not have to be afraid of reprimands – according to the motto "each one teach one".

 

ConsentThis website uses Google Analytics, fonts.com fonts, Facebook Pixel and YouTube videos.
Your consent to their use is voluntary and may be revoked at any time.
A simple revocation option and further information can be found in our privacy policy.
Decline Accept

KolorCubes: Bunte Wände für Kassel!

Bereits seit 2015 lässt das Kasseler Graffiti- und Streetart-Projekt KolorCubes großformatige Wandbilder in den Straßen der Stadt entstehen – gemeinsam mit Künstlern aus aller Welt und hauptsächlich im Kasseler Szene-Quartier Schillerviertel. Hier befindet sich auch der KolorCubes WorkSpace, ein offenes Kunstatelier mit Kulturbüro, in dem Workshops angeboten werden und Führungen durch die Public Art Gallery starten.

Kunst im öffentlichen Raum

Menschen zusammenzubringen und den städtischen Raum mit großformatiger Kunst zu bereichern: Das sind die erklärten Ziele des 2015 gegründeten Graffiti-Projekt KolorCubes.
 
Was damals mit drei Wandgestaltungen im Kasseler Kunst- und Kultur-Kiez Schillerviertel begann, hat sich schnell zu einem überregional bekannten Projekt entwickelt, das aus der Kasseler Kunstszene nicht mehr wegzudenken ist. Gemeinsam mit internationalen Künstlern wurden mittlerweile rund 30 Großwände in Kassel gestaltet, die inzwischen die ‚Public Art Gallery‘ bilden. Dazu gab und gibt es viele Aktionen und Kooperationen, mit einer Vielzahl von Kasseler Vereinen und Institutionen.
 
Seit 2018 entwickelt der Verein KolorCubes e.V. einen offenen WorkSpace im Schillerviertel. Dort werden nun Aktionen und Beteiligungsprojekte umgesetzt. Dabei spielt die Kunstvermittlung eine zentrale Rolle, beispielsweise im Rahmen von Führungen, Vorträgen und Kreativ-Workshops. Denn für die Macher*Innen von KolorCubes ist es ein Ziel, Menschen Möglichkeiten zu bieten, sich und ihre Talente zu entfalten.

Führungen durch die Public Art Gallery

KolorCubes bietet regelmäßig und auf Anfrage Führungen durch die Public Art Gallery an. Im Schillerviertel, Kassels goldener Mitte, befindet sich die Galerie im öffentlichen Raum. Der Stadtteil hat in den letzten Jahren eine erstaunliche Entwicklung erlebt: Ehemals brachliegende Industrieflächen sind durch regionale Unternehmen wiederbelebt worden, in Hinterhöfen haben sich Künstler ihre Ateliers eingerichtet und ein eigenes Straßenfest, das „Schillerviertelfest“, jeden Sommer hat seinen festen Platz in der Kasseler Kulturlandschaft gefunden.

Im Rahmen der Führung erfahren die Teilnehmer mehr über die Entstehungsprozesse und Hintergründe der Wandbilder, erhalten Einblicke in die Projektarbeit und können sich über urbane Kunst im öffentlichen Raum austauschen.

KolorCubes Kreativ-Workshops

Ein wichtiger Teil des Projekts KolorCubes ist die Kunstvermittlung – digital über Social Media, analog über Printerzeugnisse oder auch persönlich, zum Beispiel bei Workshops und Malaktionen. Dabei kann jeder teilnehmen – Offenheit ist die einzige Voraussetzung.
 
Innerhalb der Kunst soll sich jeder frei entfalten können: Dazu gehört, Entscheidungen zu treffen, auszuwählen, geschehen und wachsen lassen. Künstlerisch schaffende und übende Menschen lernen, Vorstellungen und Gewohnheiten neu zu entwickeln. Während der Aktion wird entweder gesprüht oder gepinselt, stets mit einem Konzept, das genug Raum für eigene Ideen lässt und diese fördert – gemeinsam wird Kreativität erlebt, Veränderung erfahren und Umwelt gestaltet.

Offene Aktionen gehören genauso zu dem Konzept wie eigens für Schüler und Unternehmen konzipierte Malaktionen. Wichtig ist, dass jeder Spaß hat, seine Kreativität leben darf und keine Angst vor Zurechtweisung haben muss – das Motto lautet nämlich „each one teach one“.

Einwilligung zur Nutzung. Diese Website verwendet Google Analytics, Schriften von fonts.com, Facebook Pixel und Videos von YouTube.
Ihre Einwilligung in deren Nutzung ist freiwillig und kann jederzeit widerrufen werden.
Eine einfache Widerrufsmöglichkeit sowie weitere Informationen finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.
Ablehnen Akzeptieren