Current notice

Due to the current Corona situation, some of the offers described on this website are unfortunately not available as usual.

Let yourself be inspired and look forward to your next trip to Kassel as soon as travel is possible again! Stay healthy and see you soon!

Further information also at www.kassel.de/corona.

Your Wow!Kassel team

PS: Some offers, such as the delicious Kassel urban honey, are also available online - just order and enjoy!

×

Nature at its best and world-class culture:
Welcome to the city of parks and gardens

Did you know? Kassel is Germany's fourth-greenest city! Over 63 percent of its urban area alone consists of parks and green spaces. The documenta city therefore also offers you plenty of space for recreational nature experiences and exciting tours of discovery. Whether you choose to go on an extended walk in the footsteps of the aristocracy, get some exercise by cycling or sit down for a cosy picnic in a romantic setting: Kassel has a lot to offer to nature lovers!

Green is in our nature...

The fact that Kassel has so many green oases for visitors and residents to enjoy is above all due to the city's history: it was once the capital of the landgraves and later electors of Hesse. With the UNESCO World Heritage Site Bergpark Wilhelmshöhe and Karlsaue park, Kassel's landgraves created not just one but two monumental landscape parks that continue to fascinate visitors from all over the world.

You'll also find plenty of other parks and green spaces in Kassel, each with its own unique character. The former Buga national flower and gardening show grounds, for example, are perfect for more athletic leisure time activities and a refreshing dip into the river, particularly in the summer. They are located immediately opposite Karlsaue park. Park Schönfeld, with its small romantic palace and the botanical gardens, is also captivating, and right in the Kassel city centre, you'll keep on stumbling across the "7000 Oaks" which the world-famous artist Joseph Beuys had planted here during a documenta.

By the way, you'll see even more trees in the landscape that surrounds Kassel, which inspired many famous fairy tales: look forward to some excellent hiking through the dense forests that cover much of the Mittelgebirge low mountain ranges on the footsteps of the Grimm brothers. Let's go: we have compiled some tips for you on where best to enjoy "green Kassel"!

Bergpark Wilhelmshöhe: amazing views

Bergpark Wilhelmshöhe and its baroque water features became a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2013. Hardly surprising, then, that it tops the list of Kassel's most famous attractions. Also right at the top is a Kassel landmark that can be seen from miles away: the Hercules monument. From up here, you can enjoy spectacular 360-degree views across the park and its impressive old trees. Descend downhill again on winding paths to Schloss Wilhelmshöhe, home to one of Germany's most important art collections. Not far from there, you'll find the Löwenburg, built to resemble a mediaeval castle – another of the many unmissable attractions the park has to offer!

Saunter through Karlsaue park

Karlsaue park near the Fulda river is the city's second extensive historic park besides the Bergpark. At 125 hectares, it is around the same size as the Principality of Monaco. With the baroque Orangerie palace as your starting point, you can saunter through the landscaped park, with man-made canals and bodies of standing water dotted about here and there, on idyllic paths just like the aristocracy once did. However, you should definitely factor in enough time for a guided tour of the Orangerie, not least because it is home to one of Europe's most magnificent relics of the baroque period: the Marmorbad, a bathroom clad entirely in marble. You can also marvel at some of the scientific instruments and curiosities collected by Landgrave Carl that are on display in the Orangerie's astronomy and physics exhibition.

Need some colour in your life?

On the southern end of Karlsaue park, you'll find a unique botanical gem: the "flower island" Siebenbergen. The man-made island was created in 1710, and is an outstanding example of garden design. It is home to more than 100 plant varieties from all over the world that offer a glorious display of colours from spring to autumn. Also close-by and worth seeing is Schwaneninsel island in the Aueteich pond, which has a small temple on it.

Romantic little palace and prickly beauties

Close to Karlsaue, you'll find another green oasis: Park Schönfeld, where you can stroll beneath ancient chestnut trees to unwind. A small palace, Schloss Schönfeld, is located in the centre of the park. It was built in 1777 and was once used as a lush summer residence by the landgraves and other aristocrats. Today, it houses a stylish gourmet restaurant. Kassel's botanical gardens are located right next to the palace. They consist of several themed gardens and also boast a cactus greenhouse.

Discovering the Bergpark together

Our exciting guided tours through the UNESCO World Heritage Site offer interesting insights into the secrets and unusual aspects of the Bergpark, Europe's largest hill park. Discover the park's botanical gems and learn how the baroque water features and other architectural highlights such as the Löwenburg were created.

"Beuys to go"

The fact that Kassel is one of the greenest cities in Germany is not only down to the aristocracy but also to the world-famous artist Joseph Beuys: on the occasion of the documenta 7 in 1982, he initiated the project "7000 Oaks" and actually planted the first seedlings himself. Many others followed that have now grown into tall oak trees that define the cityscape. Explore this unusual work of art with the aid of a dedicated audio guide – or with the recently published guidebook "Beuys to go".

Aktueller Hinweis

Wegen der aktuellen Corona-Situation sind einige der auf dieser Website beschriebenen Angebote derzeit leider nicht wie gewohnt verfügbar.

Lasst euch dennoch inspirieren und freut euch schon jetzt auf euren nächsten Trip nach Kassel, sobald das Reisen wieder möglich ist! Bleibt gesund und bis bald!

Weitere Infos auch auf www.kassel.de/corona.

Euer Wow!Kassel-Team

PS: Einige Angebote, wie den leckeren Kasseler Stadthonig, gibt’s auch online – einfach bestellen und genießen!

×

Natur pur und Weltkultur:
Willkommen in der Stadt der
Parks und Gärten

Hättet ihr es gewusst? Kassel ist die zweitgrünste Stadt Deutschlands! Allein im Stadtgebiet bestehen mehr als 63 Prozent der Fläche aus Parks und Grünanlagen. Damit bietet euch die documenta-Stadt viel Raum für erholsame Naturerlebnisse und spannende Entdeckertouren. Ob ausgedehnte Spaziergänge auf fürstlichen Spuren, sportliche Radtouren oder gemütliche Picknicks in romantischer Kulisse: In Kassel stehen die Zeichen für Naturliebhaber auf Grün!

Grün ist unsere Natur …

Dass Kassel seinen Gästen und Einwohnern so viele grüne Oasen zu bieten hat, ist vor allem der fürstlichen Vergangenheit der ehemaligen Residenzstadt zu verdanken: Denn mit dem UNESCO-Welterbe Bergpark Wilhelmshöhe und der Karlsaue schufen Kassels Landgrafen gleich zwei monumentale Landschaftsparks, die heute noch Besucher aus aller Welt faszinieren.

Auch sonst findet ihr in Kassel viele Parks und Grünanlagen, von denen jede ihren eigenen Charakter hat. So liegt gleich gegenüber der Karlsaue das ehemalige Buga-Gelände, das gerade im Sommer zu sportlichem Freizeitspaß und einem erfrischenden Sprung ins kühle Nass einlädt. Der Park Schönfeld verzaubert euch mit seinem romantischen Schlösschen und dem Botanischen Garten. Und mitten in Kassel trefft ihr immer wieder auf die „7000 Eichen“, die der weltberühmte Künstler Joseph Beuys hier anlässlich der documenta pflanzen ließ.

Noch mehr Bäume gibt’s übrigens rund um Kassel: Hier erwartet euch eine märchenhafte und waldreiche Mittelgebirgslandschaft, in der es sich auf den Spuren der Brüder Grimm vorzüglich wandern lässt. Auf geht’s: Wir haben einige der besten grünen Kassel-Tipps für euch zusammengestellt!

Bergpark Wilhelmshöhe: Faszinierende Aussichten

Der Bergpark Wilhelmshöhe mit den barocken Wasserspielen zählt seit 2013 zum Weltkulturerbe der UNESCO. Kein Wunder also, dass er ganz weit oben auf der Liste der wichtigsten Sehenswürdigkeiten in Kassel steht. Ganz weit oben steht auch der Herkules – Kassels weithin sichtbares Wahrzeichen, zu dessen Füßen ihr einen grandiosen Panoramablick über den Park und seinen eindrucksvollen Baumbestand genießt. Von hier führen verschlungene Wege talwärts bis zum Schloss Wilhelmshöhe, wo eine der bedeutendsten Kunstsammlungen Deutschlands zu Hause ist. Nicht weit von hier steht die im mittelalterlichen Stil errichtete Löwenburg – eine weitere der vielen Attraktionen des Parks, die ihr euch auf keinen Fall entgehen lassen solltet!

Fürstlich flanieren in der Karlsaue

Die Karlsaue nahe der Fulda ist neben dem Bergpark die zweite große historische Parkanlage der Stadt und mit 125 Hektar so weitläufig wie das Fürstentum Monaco. Vom Barockschloss Orangerie aus könnt ihr wie einst die Landgrafen auf idyllischen Wegen durch den Park schlendern, der von künstlichen Kanälen und Stillgewässern durchzogen ist. Auch eine Besichtigung der Orangerie solltet ihr unbedingt mit einplanen. Hier befindet sich nämlich mit dem Marmorbad eines der prächtigsten Relikte des Barock in Europa. Außerdem gibt es im Astronomisch-Physikalischen Kabinett einen Teil der von Landgraf Carl gesammelten wissenschaftlichen Instrumente und Kuriositäten zu bewundern.

Reif für die Blumeninsel?

Am südlichen Ende der Karlsaue befindet sich mit der Blumeninsel Siebenbergen ein einzigartiges botanisches Kleinod. Die im Jahr 1710 künstlich angelegte Insel gilt als Perle der Gartenkunst und beherbergt über 100 verschiedene Pflanzenarten aus aller Welt, die von Frühjahr bis Herbst in prächtigen Farben erstrahlen. Ebenfalls sehenswert ist die wenige Meter von hier gelegene Schwaneninsel im Aueteich, auf der ein kleiner Tempel steht.

Romantisches Schlösschen und stachelige Schönheiten

Unweit der Karlsaue erwartet euch mit dem Park Schönfeld eine weitere grüne Oase, in der ihr unter alten Kastanienbäumen flanieren und entspannt die Seele baumeln lassen könnt. Mitten im Park befindet sich das 1777 erbaute Schlösschen Schönfeld, das einst Fürsten und Adligen als lauschige Sommerresidenz diente. Heute befindet sich hier ein Restaurant, in dem man stilvoll schlemmen kann. Gleich nebenan liegt Kassels Botanischer Garten, der neben mehreren Themengärten auch ein sehenswertes Kakteenhaus beherbergt.

Den Bergpark gemeinsam entdecken

Interessante Einblicke in die Geheimnisse und Besonderheiten von Europas größtem Bergpark bieten euch unsere spannenden Führungen durch das UNESCO-Welterbe. Lernt die botanischen Kostbarkeiten des Parks kennen und erfahrt, wie die barocken Wasserspiele und weitere architektonische Schöpfungen, wie die Löwenburg, entstanden sind.

„Beuys to go“

Dass Kassel zu den grünsten Städten Deutschlands zählt, ist nicht nur den Landgrafen zu verdanken, sondern auch dem weltberühmten Künstler Joseph Beuys: Anlässlich der documenta 7 im Jahr 1982 rief er das Projekt „7000 Eichen“ ins Leben und pflanzte höchstpersönlich die ersten Setzlinge. Viele weitere Pflänzchen folgten und haben sich inzwischen zu hochgewachsenen Eichen entwickelt, die das Stadtbild prägen. Mit einem eigens entwickelten Audioguide könnt ihr euch auf die Spuren des außergewöhnlichen Kunstwerks begeben – genau wie mit dem erst kürzlich neu erschienenen Spaziergangsführer „Beuys to go“.